2nd Workshop on Decision and AI

The Second Workshop on Decision Theory & the Future of Artificial Intelligence
27-28 July 2018, Munich, Germany

This workshop will continue in the tradition established last year of bringing together philosophers, decision theorists, and AI researchers in order to promote research at the nexus between decision theory and AI. Our plan for the second installment is to make connections between decision theory and burgeoning research programs that may play a prominent role in the near future of the discipline – e.g., quantum information theory, social network analysis, and causal inference.




Hans Briegel (University of Innsbruck)
Zoe Cremer (ETH Zürich)
Tina Eliassi-Rad (Northeastern University)
Benjamin Eva (University of Konstanz)
Tom Everitt (Google DeepMind)
Christian List (London School of Economics)
Aidan Lyon (University of Maryland)
Dominik Janzing (Amazon Development Center)
Teresa Scantamburlo (University of Bristol)
Wolfgang Spohn (University of Konstanz)
Johannes Treutlein (TU Berlin)


27 July 2018

9:00       Coffee/Tea
9:25       Stephan Hartmann: Opening
9:30       Hans Briegel: TBA
10:45     Tom Everitt: Goal Alignment in Reinforcement Learning
11:30     Break
11:45     Teresa Scantamburlo: The Progress of Machine Decisions
13:00     Lunch
14:30     Dominik Janzing: Principle of Independence of Mechanisms in Machine Learning and Physics
15:15     Benjamin Eva: The Similarity of Causal Structure
16:15     Break
16:30     Christian List: Representing Moral Judgments: The Reason-Based Approach
19:00     Dinner

28 July 2018

9:00       Coffee/Tea
9:30       Wolfgang Spohn: From Nash to Dependency Equilibria
10:45     Johannes Treutlein: How the Decision Theory of Newcomblike Problems Differs Between Humans and Machines
11:30     Break
11:45     Tina Eliassi-Rad: Just Machine Learning
13:00     Lunch
14:30     Aidan Lyon: TBA
15:15     Zoe Cremer: Preserving AI Control via the Use of Theoretical Neuroinformatics in Empirical Ethics
16:00     Huw Price: Closing


Reuben Stern (LMU Munich)
Stephan Hartmann (LMU Munich)
Yang Liu (University of Cambridge)
Huw Price (University of Cambridge)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s